We are counting down the days to the season-opening Daytona 500 and for the amount of days left to the 2011 Sprint Cup’s opening race we’ll reveal a magic number in NASCAR stats and what it means. one days left, so today’s number is: 1

1: For one Daytona 500 wins for Cup champions Lee Petty (1959, pictured above), Benny Parsons (1975), David Pearson (1976), Darrell Waltrip (1989), Dale Earnhardt (1998), Jimmie Johnson (2006) and Matt Kenseth (2009). Six Cup champions have multiple Daytona 500 wins: Richard Petty (seven); Cale Yarborough (four); Bobby Allison, Dale Jarrett and Jeff Gordon (three each); and Bill Elliott (two). All told, Cup champions have won 29 of the 52 runnings of the Daytona 500.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s